Skip to main content

McLaren Automotive and its Racing Partner United Autosports have now presented the two 720S GT3 EVO cars that will compete in the upcoming 2024 FIA World Endurance Championship (WEC) season.

In 2024, McLaren will enter the WEC with their 720S GT3 EVO in the LM GT3 category. This exciting news includes participation in the 24 Hours of Le Mans – a race McLaren has not competed in since 1998. The brand has a long-standing connection to this endurance event, having achieved victory on its initial outing almost three decades ago with the renowned #59 F1 GTR.

In 2024, McLaren will participate in all three races of motor racing’s Triple Crown for the first time. They have previously won the Monaco Grand Prix and Indianapolis 500. The two 720S GT3 EVO cars, numbered #59 and #95 to honor their 1995 Le Mans victory, will sport a livery reminiscent of iconic McLaren designs from the past. This design will also match their liveries for this year’s Formula 1 and IndyCar seasons.

The WEC livery of the 2024 McLaren-United Autosports is designed in a chevron pattern, divided into three distinct sections. The front section seamlessly transitions from satin black to a shiny high gloss, with the recognizable McLaren Papaya color adorning the rear of the car. This iconic color is also prominently featured on the rear wing and aerodynamic dive planes at the front of the vehicle. Additionally, it serves as a unique distinguishing factor on the side mirrors and windscreen strip of car #59.

Confirmation has been received for the 2024 season’s line-up of drivers for the McLaren-United Autosports WEC team, in anticipation of the Official Prologue in Qatar on February 24-25. The #59 vehicle will be piloted by Swiss racer Gregoire Saucy, Briton James Cottingham, and Brazilian Nicolas Costa. Meanwhile, Japan’s Marino Sato, Chilean Nico Pino, and Briton Josh Caygill will take to the track in the #95 car.

In March 2024, the WEC season kicks off in Qatar with the first of eight races. The remaining rounds will be held in various locations such as Imola, Spa-Francorchamps, and Le Mans in Europe, followed by stops in Sao Paulo and Texas in the Americas. The competition then moves to Japan before concluding with the final round in Bahrain in November.